Writing Insights Part Two: The Rough Draft – From Hugh Howey


By Hugh Howey

In the first part of this series, I listed some of the insights I wish I’d known before I set out to become a writer. Those insights might not be equally useful to all people, and that same warning applies here as we dive into the writing process. I’m sharing these simply because I think my twenty years of fruitless endeavors might’ve been a whole lot easier if I’d known a few things before I got started.

To me, the rough draft is the most difficult part of the writing process. Revising and publishing are the fun and easy parts. I know many other writers also struggle with their rough drafts. The idea for the story is exciting, and the first chapter leaps right from the fingertips, but things quickly bog down. Excitement wanes. Doubts creep in. The inner critic takes over.

I hope to help you through this process as much as I can. We’ll pick up the numbering right where we left off.

 

Insight #11: Your Rough Draft Doesn’t Have to be Good

If you take only one insight away from this part of this series, please let it be this one. Nothing stifles creativity and production like the inner critic who shows up too early. I’m going to repeat this, and I strongly suggest that you make it your daily rough draft mantra:

My rough draft doesn’t have to be good.

Read the rest of this story HERE.

Leave a comment