Dear Bloggers, Remember to Edit Your Blog Pages and Sidebar Text

Some helpful tips for cleaning yup your blog pages and sidebars from the PBS Blog.

Pearls Before Swine

Before we tuck in for the weekend I wanted to give some quick heads up to those who may either be new to blogging or still trying to find your way around the WordPress platform.

If you are at all serious about blogging, whether that is to build an author platform or just to share your thoughts, be sure that your pages are all filled in and that your sidebar is as well. What do I mean “Fill in?”

There is nothing that screams amateur more than:

“This is a text widget, which allows you to add text…” and so on.

You would want to ban these words from anywhere on your blog! GET RID OF THEM. Why?

bitmoji-2000907637

To put this as nice but as real as I can, it makes you look lazy. It only takes a few minutes or maybe even a few hours to fill in the…

View original post 357 more words

The Archivist — Chapter 12

Enjoy chapter 12 of The Archivist, by Anna Dobritt.

Anna Dobritt -- Author

10608393_668873206561801_7161366852990077347_o

Chapter 12 

Lennie’s handed a bottle of beer to Scott. “I don’t like how you handled this situation, but what’s done is done. From now on, any murders you have that concern runes you contact me immediately. I want to look around before your techs get there.” Lennie sat next to Nickie.

“All right. I take it wherever you go she goes?”

“Of course. She’s my Archivist Apprentice. If I’m any judge, she’ll reach Third-Class before she finishes her first year. I’m also her Keeper, in case you have forgotten.”

“So there’s nothing going on between the two of you?”

Nickie started laughing.

Lennie choked on her beer. “What the hell is wrong with everyone? Why this sudden interest in my personal life? Did someone put up a damn billboard that says ‘Lennie and Diane broke up’?”

“Sorry! It’s just I was at the diner the other day and was…

View original post 1,302 more words

Do you know how to kill off a character?

The question from this post on Jean’s Writing Blog is, Do you know how to kill off a character?

jean's writing

Picking a way to kill off a character is not always easy.

I’m dealing with that now. I’ve got a character that’s got to go and another that may need to make an untimely exit.

http://www.pixabay.com

Hmm, poison might work.

If you’re looking for a nasty poison then you will be as thrilled as I was to find Poisoning People for Fun and Profit by Anne R. Allen.

Anne gives us 25 poisons to choose from in a series of posts.

Want to find a poison for your WIP?

Click and start with her latest, Poisoning People for Fun and Profit: Part 25—Yew, and then work your way through the rest.

Have you ever used poison as a way to rid your story of a character?

Which one did you choose?

Or do you prefer something more violent ?

Leave me a comment – I love comments.

Please head over…

View original post 64 more words

WRITING CHALLENGE: See It, Write It – PLUS! A Special Announcement About My First Word Weaver WRITING CONTEST

Check out this writing challenge from Dan Alatorre’s blog.

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

Your humble host. your humble host

This week’s writing challenge looks kinda hard, so a LOT of you are not gonna wanna do it, but you’re ALL gonna wanna hear about the SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT.

First, the writing challenge. Hey, no pain, no gain.

Here is a road rage scene from the movie Marathon Man. Watch it…

Okay, NOW what I want you to do is one of three things. (Extra points for number three)

EITHER:

  1. Describe the place where dramatic irony occurs. Can you introduce that in a written scene? How would you do it? (Don’t know what dramatic irony is? Join the club.) OR
  2. Describe the action in the chase scene between the Mercedes Driver (The Nazi) and the Caprice driver (The Jewish Guy). Can you write that scene? Why or why not? OR
  3. The place where the nanny is crossing the street and the little girl…

View original post 833 more words

After She’s Gone by Maggie James #BlogTour @mjamesfiction @TAsTPublicity

Check out the book, After She’s Gone, by Maggie James, from the By The Letter Book Reviews blog

bytheletterbookreviews

32596882Book Description:

Lori Golden’s family have had more than their fair share of troubles. But through it all, Lori and her sister, Jessie, have always supported each other. Then Jessie is killed. And Lori’s world turns upside down.

Devastated, Lori struggles to cope with her loss, and to learn to live in a world without her bright, bubbly sister by her side. Around her, her already fractured family start to fall apart. And, as Lori and her mother try to pick up the pieces of their shattered lives, secrets long thought buried are coming painfully to light.

Faced with the unthinkable, Lori is forced to ask herself how well she really knows those who are left behind…

unnamed.pngMy Thoughts:

I don’t think there could be anything worse than having a much loved member of your family murdered. For Lori and her family though things start to take a very dark and…

View original post 384 more words

#Review of #TheKickingtheBucketList by @CathyHopkins1 @fictionpubteam @W6BookCafe

#Review of #TheKickingtheBucketList by @CathyHopkins1 @fictionpubteam @W6BookCafe

Check out the book, Kicking the Bucket List, by Cathy Hopkins, via The Writing Garnet blog.

The Writing Garnet

bucketThe stunning debut for fans of Celia Imrie and Dawn French.

Meet the daughters of Iris Parker. Dee; sensitive and big-hearted; Rose uptight and controlled and Fleur the reckless free spirit.
At the reading of their mother’s will, the three estranged women are aghast to discover that their inheritance comes with strings attached. If they are to inherit her wealth, they must spend a series of weekends together over the course of a year and carry out their mother’s ‘bucket list’.

But one year doesn’t seem like nearly enough time for them to move past the decades-old layers of squabbles and misunderstandings. Can they grow up for once and see that Iris’ bucket list was about so much more than money…

What does TWG think?

I’ll be honest, this book wasn’t what I was expecting at all. I was expecting a storyline that was centred around the ‘typical’ bucket list…

View original post 983 more words

Gone Without A Trace by Mary Torjussen #BlogTour #BookReview @millieseward

Gone Without A Trace by Mary Torjussen #BlogTour #BookReview @millieseward

Check out the book, Gone Without a Trace, by Mary Torjussen, as it makes a blog tour stop on the My Chestnut Reading Tree blog

mychestnutreadingtree

Today I’m delighted to welcome you to my stop on the Gone Without A Trace blog tour with a review of this fabulous book!

About this book…

No one ever disappears completely…

You leave for work one morning.

Another day in your normal life.

Until you come home to discover that your boyfriend has gone.
His belongings have disappeared.
He hasn’t been at work for weeks.
It’s as if he never existed.

But that’s not possible, is it?

And there is worse still to come.

Because just as you are searching for him
someone is also watching you.

My review…

Oh my goodness! I feel like an emotional wreck, wrung out like a dishcloth and in need of a calming cuppa! What an intense and unputdownable book this is. To be honest when I bought it, I didnt actually expect it to be as big a real pager turner…

View original post 432 more words