Author Inspiration and This Week’s Writing Links


Check out this post with some useful writing links from Stacy Troilo’s blog

Staci Troilo

lightningDid you ever use a thesaurus to come up with a better word? Stephen King says, “Any word you have to hunt for in a thesaurus is the wrong word. There are no exceptions to this rule.” Seems to me Mark Twain would disagree.

I don’t want the lightning bug. I want the lightning. My words could have a dim glow or they could light the world on fire. And I choose the latter.

This week, I did a lot of editing, and I tried to help my clients elevate their works and word choices to an electric level. And when I wrote? I tried to do the same for myself. Did I have to consult a thesaurus? A couple of times. And I’m okay with that.

I’d rather use a reference tool and have a character “dash” or “dart” than rely on my sometimes sluggish brain and have them “run very…

View original post 163 more words

2 thoughts on “Author Inspiration and This Week’s Writing Links

Leave a Reply

