The Heart’s Invisible Furies by @John_Boyne #review @DoubledayUK


Check out the book, The Heart’s Invisible Furies, by John Boyne, as reviewed on the Portobello Book Blog.

Portobello Book Blog

The Heart's Invisible Furies by [Boyne, John]

I am quite ashamed to admit how long I have had this book for. I just checked back my messages and discovered that Publicist Director Patsy Irwin sent me it last November! At the time, I commented how big it was and she agreed but said it was unputdownable. I have to admit the sheer size of it has been one of the reasons it has been languishing on my bookshelf so long but I was determined to read it over summer so included it in my #20BooksofSummer list. And Patsy was absolutely right – I couldn’t put it down.

On the face of it, it’s a simple enough story. It follows Cyril Avery – not a real Avery of course – from his inauspicious start being born to a young unmarried mother cast out of her small rural community in Ireland, through his unorthodox life with his adoptive parents…

View original post 690 more words

Leave a Reply

