Author Inspiration and This Week’s Writing Links


Check out this great list of writing links from Staci Troilo’s blog.

Staci Troilo

Dr. Seuss on WritingThis was a busy week for me. I spent much of it editing in one form or another. Beta reads, critiques, actual editing projects. Even revising some of my own works.

All that editing brought to mind one of my favorite writing quotes, from one of my favorite writers—Dr. Seuss.

I have a tendency to write long. I’m wordy. (I bet that revelation stuns you.) I’ve been participating in WP prompts, writing short fictional pieces to see if I can’t tighten my prose.

It’s been an interesting experiment for me. I love to add detail and color, but sometimes it’s too much. Not necessarily purple prose, but too much. Is it really necessary to know the pencil is yellow and dull and stubby and missing an eraser? If the pencil is a weapon, maybe. But if it’s just a pencil, then probably not.

I’m certainly not claiming to have mastered…

View original post 159 more words

2 thoughts on “Author Inspiration and This Week’s Writing Links

Leave a Reply

