Self-Publishing a Debut Literary Novel: The Actions, The Costs, The Results – From Jane Friedman’s Blog


biographies of ordinary people by nicole diekerGuest post by freelancer and novelist Nicole Dieker (@hellothefuture).

On May 23, 2017, I self-published my debut novel: The Biographies of Ordinary People: Volume 1: 1989–2000. It’s a Millennial-era Little Women that follows three sisters from 1989 to the present; the second volume, which covers 2004–2016, will release in May 2018.

There’s a lot about my book that is, shall we say, extraordinary. (Someone had to.) I funded the drafts of both volumes through Patreon; 61 supporters contributed $6,909 over eighteen months in exchange for two draft chapters per week. I queried the first volume in the traditional publishing market, and after hearing multiple agents say that the writing was very strong but that the book was “too quiet” to be marketable, I started asking myself whether I could market the book on my own.

Read the rest of this post HERE.

One thought on “Self-Publishing a Debut Literary Novel: The Actions, The Costs, The Results – From Jane Friedman’s Blog

  1. Pingback: Self-Publishing a Debut Literary Novel: The Actions, The Costs, The Results – From Jane Friedman’s Blog — Author Don Massenzio – I Suck at Writing

Leave a Reply

