Photography 101: Shooting With a Single Lens


Here are some great tips around shooting with a single lens from photograhper/writer Stephen Dennstedt’s blog

Expat Journal: Postcards from the Edge

I hate humping gear and the older I get the more I hate it. Having said that, however, when I shoot commercially I am forced to carry along a pretty complete kit (depending on the assignment). Therefore, when I’m shooting for pleasure I often just use one camera body and one lens (and usually regret it).

I was recently invited to visit and photograph Jim Hubbell’s Studio, Home & Garden in San Ysabel, CA. You can only visit by invitation so it was a real honor to be asked (it also helps to have connections). This was not a commercial shoot but rather an opportunity to visit and shoot for pleasure. So I took one camera and one lens—and regretted it.

I elected to take my Canon EOS 5D Mark IV full-frame camera and my Canon EF 24-70mm f/4L IS USM zoom lens. I knew I would be shooting interiors…

View original post 278 more words

One thought on “Photography 101: Shooting With a Single Lens

Leave a Reply

