Photography 101: Sigma 50mm f/1.4 DG HSM Art Lens


Stephen Dennstedt is back with some camera gear tips from his blog.

Expat Journal: Postcards from the Edge

This is the Sigma 50mm f/1.4 DG HSM Art Lens for Canon. It can also be ordered with a Nikon mount for you Nikon fanboys out there. For a prime lens it’s big, heavy and expensive—especially when you compare it to the much smaller and lighter Canon and Nikon Nifty-50. I’m not going to do a review here, instead I’m going to include an in-depth revenue by Dustin Abbott who I greatly respect for his expertise.

I agree with everything he has to say. Everyone should have a 50mm prime lens in their kit, and if you’re a professional, advanced amateur or just appreciate fine equipment this is the lens for you. It out shoots anything Canon or Nikon produces in the 50mm focal length. The only 50mm lens that can out shoot it is the Zeiss Otus 55mm f/1.4 (but it costs $4,000 and is manual focus only). Don’t…

View original post 272 more words

2 thoughts on “Photography 101: Sigma 50mm f/1.4 DG HSM Art Lens

    • My nephew is an award-winning photographer and he had tried for years to get me into it. Between writing, playing music, and, oh, my 50-60 hour per week day job, I’m a little stretched, but when I retire, watch out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

