What To Do When Your Mystery Novel Gets Stuck [Mystery Month]


Check out this great post from Rachel Poli on what to do when your mystery novel gets stuck.

Rachel Poli

I talk about outlining all the time, but even I don’t outline for everything.

For the past two years, I’ve written a four- or five-part mystery short story for Short Story Sunday using George and Lilah as the protagonists. I’d get a random title in mind and a plot would spark from there.

That didn’t happen this year.

I’ve been writing this month’s mystery short story as the month went on. I easily wrote the first part and second part, but then I got stuck.

What to do when you get stuck writing a mystery novel

It’s always such a pain when you get stuck on any story, but when you get stuck on a mystery plot, it’s tough to get yourself out of it. Everything has to be pieced together and make sense. When you don’t know what’s going on, it’s hard to tie it all together.

So, what do you do?

1. Reread what you previously wrote

I know…

View original post 281 more words

Leave a Reply

