Possibly My Most Poignant Photograph Ever


Expat Journal: Postcards from the Edge

I think this is possibly my most poignant photograph ever. It speaks volumes to me—on many different levels. I was doing a photo assignment in 2013 for The Yucatan Times newspaper (in Merida, Yucatan, Mexico) about Merida’s small community zoo. I came across this ageing Chimpanzee who appeared to have been in captivity for many years; he was looking at me curiously through the bars of a small window in a heavily padlocked door. What I saw was indescribable sadness.

We lay (non-scientific) humans are often accused of anthropomorphizing the wild things around us. I have my own feelings about this subject, but suffice it to say I think we share many emotional traits with our wilder cousins: pain, sorrow, anger, joy (and even humor) to name a few. I know that many scientists would disagree with that notion, but I’ve seen so much empirical evidence to…

View original post 245 more words

2 thoughts on “Possibly My Most Poignant Photograph Ever

Leave a Reply

