Allison Maruska

The title is one that I hope will spark some constructive discussion. I’ve asked myself the question many times since the election and on certain days when I find myself glued to my Twitter feed.

VoltaireI realize the title itself may cause a few to bristle. Everyone is “allowed” to say whatever the hell they want. I’ve mostly kept my political opinions off public forums, and the reason for that is simple: I don’t want them to affect my reputation as a writer in any direction. When I post an opinion, I’m posting not just as myself but also as my brand. I want people to buy and read my books, and getting on my soap box could harm that effort.

But sometimes I wonder: could adding to public discourse perhaps attract new readers?

I write fiction, and anyone reading my books can probably figure out where I stand on certain issues.

View original post 552 more words

Leave a Reply

