The Beatles, Sgt. Pepper, and Writing


Story Empire

My copy of a Sgt. Peppers vinyl picture disc.

Hi, SE Readers. Joan here. I’ve been a Beatles fan since I was six years old. Ever since I heard that first song on the radio back in 1964 (yes, I’m dating myself), I was fascinated by those four young men from Liverpool, England.

I can’t remember which of their songs I heard first—it may have been “She Loves You” or “From Me to You,” but most likely it was “I Want to Hold Your Hand.” It doesn’t matter. From that point on, all other music that I listened to seemed almost obsolete. (Having a teenage brother with a rather extensive record collection helped develop my love of music.)

The hit songs kept coming, the group kept touring, and finally, in August 1966, they performed their last on-stage concert at San Francisco’s Candlestick Park. The reason they quit? Stage sound equipment…

View original post 504 more words

Leave a Reply

