Entering My Seventh Decade on Planet Earth


Please join me in wishing Stephen a happy birthday and check out his great blog.

Expat Journal: Postcards from the Edge

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Birthdays are a time for reflection (and celebration). I am still trying to wrap my head around the fact that I am seventy years old. As is my want I have divided my life into seasons (seems appropriate somehow). With the somewhat optimistic expectation that I will endure until I am eighty-eight I am now in the early winter months of my life.

There have been a few close calls along the way: a leukaemia scare when I was a kid, two rattlesnake bites (at ages 8 and 10), Vietnam, Dengue Fever in Yucatan and a health crisis in Guatemala. But, hey, I’m still here and kicking—a little beat up but still causing trouble. Pirates, renegades and scoundrels have an obligation to cause trouble.

I spent the morning out on the patio smoking a Perdomo 20th Anniversary cigar, drinking a double (maybe a triple) Glenlivet 12-year old…

View original post 126 more words

One thought on “Entering My Seventh Decade on Planet Earth

Leave a Reply

