Annemarie Allan Guest post @aldhammer @cranachanbooks #pokeyhat


Portobello Book Blog

Annemarie

I’m really pleased to be joined by author Annemarie Allan today, who I met recently at a lunch for authors and bloggers in Edinburgh. She kindly gave me a copy of her book Charlie’s Promise to read so watch out for my review in the next few weeks. In the meantime, she has written a really great post on why setting is so important to her in her writing. 

Setting is always important and landscape often determines the nature of my characters, sometimes quite literally. My novel Ushig is an attempt to bring Scotland’s mythical creatures into the modern world and those creatures, the selkies and kelpies, the unseelie court and all the others are a direct product of Scotland’s mountains, its coasts, rivers, lochs and forests.

With my latest novel, ‘Charlie’s Promise’ the setting is deeply personal. Morison’s Haven, where Charlie lives, is the where place my mother…

View original post 350 more words

Leave a Reply

