Photography 101: Canon Holy Trinity

Expat Journal: Postcards from the Edge

Stephen F. Dennstedt

I call it (as do others) the Canon Holy Trinity but it could just as easily be called the Nikon or Sony Holy Trinity. What am I talking about here—religion or photography? Definitely photography, I always get into trouble with politics and religion. Experienced photographers will know what I mean when I talk about the Trinity but for new photographers read on.

The Trinity consists of the three lenses every serious photographer should have in their kit: 16-35mm f/2.8, 24-70mm f/2.8 and 70-200mm f/2.8. The idea is you can cover virtually every photo assignment with one of these three lenses (with the possible exception of professional sports or wildlife shooting where a long lens is required). Do you absolutely need these three lenses? Of course not.

Lens selection, like everything else in photography, is a matter of personal choice: you choose what works best for you and…

View original post 634 more words

1 thought on “Photography 101: Canon Holy Trinity

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s