A Review of B.J. Hollars’ Flock Together: A Love Affair with Extinct Birds


Check out this review of the book, Flock Together – A Love Affair With Extinct Birds, by B.J. Hollars from the Brevity blog.

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

download.jpgBy Scott Russell Morris

A “spark bird,” I learned from B.J. Hollars’ Flock Together: A Love Affair With Extinct Birds, is the bird that gets one interested in birding. Presumably, it takes you beyond casual observation and into impassioned enthusiasm. In Hollars’ case, his spark bird leads him into an exploration of extinct birds, which leads him to investigating the lives of bird experts, living and dead, many of whom have made significant contributions to environmental causes, which of course, he discusses in relation to the fact that most extinct birds are so because of us humans. While I have never experienced a spark bird, and while I’ll admit that even after reading Flock Together, I’m only slightly more interested in the birds themselves, I can say that I’ve experienced a spark squirrel. I was nineteen, I had recently moved from California to Maryland to be…

View original post 842 more words

Leave a Reply

