Hunting: Camera Versus Gun


Check out this post from Stephen Dennstedt on his transition from guns to cameras for shooting wildlife.

Expat Journal: Postcards from the Edge

Stephen F. Dennstedt

I’ve handled and shot guns since I was a kid. I was probably about five years old when I fired my first gun under my dad’s strict direction (a small .22 LR if I remember correctly). At age ten I inherited two rifles from my grandfather and by twelve I had my first 20-gauge shotgun, a Winchester Model 12. That same year I attended and graduated from the NRA Hunter Safety Course and got my first hunting license. I used to go with my dad to Imperial Valley every year to take part in opening day of dove season.

I loved going out with my dad (hunting and fishing) and getting out into the wild. I loved the skill it took to accurately and safely shoot a gun. I loved the fieldcraft I learned while hunting. I loved everything about it except the kill. Even as a…

View original post 323 more words

2 thoughts on “Hunting: Camera Versus Gun

Leave a Reply

