Photography 101: Canon EOS 5D Mark IV First Impressions


Stephen Dennstedt has some new photography gear. Check out this post where he gives his first impressions.

Expat Journal: Postcards from the Edge

Stephen F. Dennstedt

I received my new Canon EOS 5D Mark IV full-frame DSLR and EF 24-70mm f/4L IS USM lens late yesterday afternoon and played with it most of the evening. It’s a huge step up from my 5D Mark II which was cutting edge technology back in 2009 when I bought it. The Mark IV shares many features with Canon’s flagship EOS 1Dx Mark II which retails for a whopping $6,000 USD.

The Mark IV has been panned by videographers but I don’t shoot video—for still photography I think this will be an amazing feature-rich camera. What really sold me on this upgrade is its:

M-mode (Manual) Auto-ISO capability. I can now set the Aperture and Shutter Speed and let the camera automatically adjust the ISO based on user-defined parameters. I’ve set my camera to an ISO range of 100-12,800. I could set the maximum limit much higher…

View original post 323 more words

One thought on “Photography 101: Canon EOS 5D Mark IV First Impressions

Leave a Reply

