Take Heart: Encouragement for Authors – Guest Post by Cynthia Reyes…


Check out this guest post by author Cynthia Reyes from The Story Reading Ape Blog

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

cr-2I just came across an email exchange between a talented author and me from a year ago.

She wrote, “I’m actually feeling a bit sorry for myself, having just received another rejection a few hours ago from an agent who seemed very excited about my last manuscript, but decided not to offer me representation. Closest I’ve come so far.”

I reflected on that. I knew it was time to offer encouragement. But how?

What to say that wouldn’t be platitudinous or too mundane to have impact?

I had previously urged this author to try indie publishing. She felt it would be too difficult to take that on. So this time, I asked:

Have you tried the smaller publishers? The future is with small publishers, and many authors find themselves more supported by these small publishers than the larger ones.”

Yes, she replied, she had. No luck there.

Most of…

View original post 592 more words

2 thoughts on “Take Heart: Encouragement for Authors – Guest Post by Cynthia Reyes…

Leave a Reply

