Road Tales/Rode Tails (20)


It’s Road Tales/Rode Tails – Part 20 from Armond Blackwater

Armond Blackwater

Light My Fire

My fire was lit. Nickelson’s Music didn’t have The Doors eponymous album so I rode the bus to Shopper’s City in Duluth where I did find the precious bounty. I studied the faces on the cover and read every word on the cover and the liner notes on the bus ride back. The members of The Doors were Ray Manzarek (organ), Robby Krieger (Electric Guitar), John Densmore (drums), and Jim Morrison (singer). I read the names over and over to commit them to memory.  I couldn’t wait to spin it on a turntable so I could inspect the songs microscopically.

I had built a small stereo headphone driver out of spare parts from a discarded radio and fed that from a cheap discarded stereo turntable. Clamping the headphones on I dropped the needle on track 1, side 1 – Break On Through. The headphones allowed me…

View original post 4,691 more words

Leave a Reply

