Guest writer: Alethea Kehas – A girl named Truth


Check out this post by guest writer Alethea Kehas on Sue Vincent’s blog

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Truth

open the room of my mind
search for me
within faded

doubt
listen to words
sing

My birth
There was once a girl named
Alethea

her heart sparked with truth

My mother always told me she found my name, Alethea, in a book. In my child-mind I created a tome perfumed with age, adding gilded pages over the years. Sometimes I imagined stories, filled with strong and beautiful goddesses, and smiled with the thought that I was held inside.

“It’s Greek,” my mother told me, “for truth.”

When I opened the book inside the room of my mind, I watched the pages unfold like the wings of a butterfly, and waited for a girl named for truth to manifest into form.

I never doubted the existence of this book, until one winter afternoon when I was thirty-six. That day, alone in my New Hampshire home, I cupped a phone…

View original post 973 more words

One thought on “Guest writer: Alethea Kehas – A girl named Truth

Leave a Reply

