Venetia Welby – author in the spotlight @venwelby @quartetbooks


The spotlight shines on author Venetia Welby on the Portobello Book Blog

Portobello Book Blog

author-pic-venetia

I’m pleased to welcome debut novelist Venetia Welby whose book, Mother of Darkness, was published by Quartet Books last week (23rd February). You will find all buying links at the bottom of this post. Thanks for joining me Venetia. First of all, would you tell me a bit about yourself?

Hello. My name’s Venetia Welby. I’m 35, married to Charlie and have a 3 year old son, Hal, and sociopathic cat, Lovecat. I live in Bow in east London, an area I love very deeply, but I was born and brought up near Grantham in Lincolnshire where my family still live. I came here to do a master’s degree in Comparative Literature at King’s College, London after studying Classics at Oxford and travelling widely, sustaining myself with freelance tutoring, editing and writing.

What inspired you to start writing?

As far back as I can remember I’ve always written stories. I…

View original post 699 more words

Leave a Reply

