Check out this interesting post from Allison Maruska on the reasons why readers stop reading a book.

Allison Maruska

I’ve read a lot of books. A LOT of books. When I was a kid, I’d get sets of books and be thrilled at the promise of spending countless hours sitting upside-down in my mom’s recliner with an open book. Reading and appreciation of a good story is part of who I am.

But in recent years, I’m afraid to say I’ve become a bit of a book snob. I don’t often finish books (for reasons we’ll get to). And yesterday, an exchange on Twitter happened in response to this post by Sarah E. Boucher.

twitter-review-chattwitter-review-chat1

I know I’m not the only one who doesn’t finish books, but yesterday’s chat got me asking myself why I personally don’t finish a book I start, because in thinking of such things we can avoid them as writers. I narrowed it down to three reasons.

boring-reading I would argue this applies to all readers, not…

View original post 311 more words

Leave a Reply

