Photography 101: The Role of Color in Photography


Check out this insightful post from Stephen Dennstedt on the role of color in photography

Expat Journal: Postcards from the Edge

10404023_677778548943750_2540877474589894587_o Stephen F. Dennstedt

What is the role of color in photography? It’s certainly open to personal artistic interpretation. I recently came across this YouTube video by a photographer I respect and follow. I think it’s a timely subject given the post-editing solutions we have today: Lightroom, Photoshop and Photoshop Elements. I love classic black & white photography but I also love color photography when it’s done well. Unfortunately, many folks go bonkers with the saturation slider in post and destroy what is otherwise a beautiful image.

My goal is to present natural but vibrant colors when possible. I think my images tend to reflect that style for the most part. When color creeps into the unnatural (did you see what I did there?) it becomes garish (ugly) and what I call crunchy. I define crunchy as: too much sharpening, too much contrast and toomuch color saturation. It just makes…

View original post 203 more words

3 thoughts on “Photography 101: The Role of Color in Photography

  1. It looks like Anthony Hopkins, who doesn’t ad or that actor? So weve got a new short story Don and I’ve released the rough draft, could really use your feedback buddy. Crossing my fingers, that this could be the one that puts my blog on the map

    Like

Leave a Reply

