Guest post: Felicity Harley on Why I refer to my SF novel as Science AND Fiction


Check out this guest post by author Felicity Harley on the Island Editions blog.

Books: Publishing, Reading, Writing

Felicity Harley has been previously promoted on my other blog, Reading Recommendations, and was also a guest on this blog, writing about book clubs. I recently assisted Felicity by beta-reading and polish-editing this latest novel of hers and was struck by the fact that she told me she was referring to it as “Science AND Fiction” rather than the better-known genre of Science Fiction, so I asked her to explain why.

burningyears-510

I’ve always been a fan of science fiction. My favorite writers are Herbert, Asimov, Bradbury and Orwell. I tend to like science fiction writers who explore what happens to human beings within the context of societies like ours which divorce us from our essential humanity. That’s why I like Farenheit 451, 1984 and The End of Eternity.

I think Herbert was quite prescient when he wrote Dune, because he imagined a planet and human…

View original post 856 more words

2 thoughts on “Guest post: Felicity Harley on Why I refer to my SF novel as Science AND Fiction

Leave a Reply

