Where My Heart Used to Beat by Sebastian Faulks #review


Check out this candid review of the book Where My Heart Used to Beat by Sebastian Faulks from the Portobello Book blog

Portobello Book Blog

I have to admit to being rather disappointed with this book, which I had really been looking forward to reading. It probably doesn’t help that Birdsong by the same author is my favourite book ever so this had a lot to live up to.

I really didn’t like the protagonist, Dr Robert Hendriks. I found him to be rather cold with a strange, rather arrogant, attitude towards women. It wasn’t until half way through the book when the love interest Luisa was introduced that I started to engage with the story.

I found the sections on psychiatry to be rather dry and thought they didn’t add to the story. In fact, I skimmed over parts of these and don’t feel I missed out on anything important. There was some rather strange language used, words I had no idea what they meant and thought rather self-indulgent: palimpsest and chiaroscuro to mention…

View original post 317 more words

Leave a Reply

