Photography 101: Digital Versus Analog


Here’s a great post from Stephen Dennstedt on the topic of digital vs. analog photography

Expat Journal: Postcards from the Edge

885756_830581123663491_378352687033749097_o Stephen F. Dennstedt

I am not a techie or tech-weenie. If you have a lot of technical questions about gear, technique and/or processing you better ask someone else because I’m not your guy. Photographers often fall into one of two camps: either they’re technically oriented around gear and process or artistically oriented towards vision and message (there are blends of both of course). I definitely fall into the artistic or aesthetic camp. I can appreciate nice gear and what it can do but I’m much more concerned with the result. For me cameras, lenses and gear are tools—like wrenches to a plumber.

I will say that I have come to embrace and LOVE digital technology. Why is that the case if I’m not into the gear and process as such? Because I am (or can be) a control freak. In the days of analog (film) once I snapped the shutter…

View original post 500 more words

One thought on “Photography 101: Digital Versus Analog

Leave a Reply

