Guest blogger: Jennie Fitzkee – How Reading-Aloud Made Me the Teacher and Person I Am Today


Check out this great guest post by Jennie Fitzkee on Sue Vincent’s blog

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

My very first day of teaching preschool in Massachusetts, thirty-two years ago, was both career and life altering.  Lindy, my co-teacher, asked me to read the picture books to children each day after our Morning Meeting.  Sure (gulp)!  I was new, scared, and unfamiliar with many children’s books.  I had not been read to as a child, except for The Five Chinese Brothers from my grandmother.  I still remember the page that opens sideways, with the brother who could stretch his legs.  One book, and to this day I remember it vividly.

The book I read to the children on that first day of school was Swimmy, by Leo Lionni.  It was magical for me, and for the children.  The story line, the art, the engineering, the words… it was a taste of something I knew I had to have.  And, I couldn’t get enough.

image

The next few decades…

View original post 797 more words

Leave a Reply

